top of page
  • Writer's picturePopShoppes

Star Trek The Original Series Premiere

Updated: Oct 13, 2020

Star Trek, The Original Series, was produced from September 1966 to December 1967 by Norway Productions and Desilu Productions, and by Paramount Television from January 1968 to June 1969. Star Trek aired on NBC from September 8, 1966, to June 3, 1969, and was actually seen first on September 6, 1966, on Canada's CTV network. The show is set in the Milky Way galaxy, roughly during the 2260s. The ship and crew are led by Captain James T. Kirk (William Shatner), First Officer and Science Officer Spock (Leonard Nimoy), and Chief Medical Officer Leonard 'Bones' McCoy (DeForest Kelley). After NBC deemed the first pilot "too cerebral", a second pilot was produced, "Where No Man Has Gone Before" with more action.

Shatner's voice-over introduction during each episode's opening credits stated the starship's purpose: "Space: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before." Here is a brief history of Star Trek franchise:

Star Trek's Nielsen ratings while on NBC were low, and the network cancelled it after three seasons and 79 episodes. Several years later, the series became a hit in broadcast syndication, remaining so throughout the 1970s, achieving cult classic status and a developing influence on popular culture.

Here is a clip of the top 10 Original Series Episodes:

Star Trek eventually spawned a franchise, consisting of eight television series, 13 feature films, and numerous books, games, and toys, and is now widely considered one of the most popular and influential television series of all time.

Press the Cool Button to be notified when new Blog of Fame posts are published.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page